Monday, June 2, 2008

SOWISA, babyluv

Strap on whenever it seems appropriate.
Lisey's Story.
It was so far removed from what normal Stephen King books are like, but damn, I think out of all the ones I've read, it's now my favorite. So, it wasn't classic, horror Stephen King, but he's still a brilliant writer. This book has everything, mystery, suspense, a little horror, love, and you know I'm a sucker for a good love story. It was weird cause even though you know Scott is dead, the scene where she's remembering the day he died made me cry. It really is a good book though, and Boo'ya Moon was probably my favorite part of it. I think in some way we all drink from that pool. That each of us has a place we visit when we need to heal, maybe not physically, but emotionally. And the sayings Scott and Lisey had were awesome. I think my favorite was, "Everything the same." Oh oh, and "Bool! The End." The bools, man. Oh man. And you gotta watch out for the bad gunky. The blood bools were especially freaky, but once you knew the story, they made sense. The part where the really bad gunky got Scott's brother, Paul, was really sad. You didn't know if you should believe what was happening, but when it's Stephen King, of course you believe it. This was like a realistic fantasy, it was so strange, but I loved it anyway.

Speaking of fantasy, I also read The Elves of Cintra. Now I have to wait till August for the last book. This is why I hate reading series that aren't finished! It was really good though, but I mean, it's Terry Brooks, of course it's good. I realized that I have read 14 of his books. I'm missing the Kingdom of Landover series, though, and about two of the series for Shannara. I wanna get the "graphic novel" only because I wanna see pictures of what all the stuff is supposed to look like. My imagination only goes so far and most of the characters are modeled after the LOTR movies...

It feels so nice to just read and read and read. I've read like five books already since getting out of school, but then I miss school. I'm getting bored! Seriously...I need something to do, but the good thing is, I go back in a week. And back to the gym! whoo! I'm starting to feel fat. hahaha jk =]